Run

Brighton Marathon – a review

I fully intend to revisit the topic of my first marathon, or at least different aspects of it, over a few blog posts. There is just too much to say on too many different issues to cover it all in one post.

For now, let’s look at the high level view.

It was hot – REALLY HOT.

It hurt – REALLY HURT.

I was slow. REALLY SLOW. And much slower than any training runs suggested.

There was NOT enough water (no matter what the organisers choose to say in their oh so carefully worded statement). The picture below is a map of the route and my recollection of the problem areas.

I feared I would end up in an ambulance before I reached the end.

Lots of people smoke weed on Brighton seafront!

The volunteers & medics were amazing. As were the supporters – Hatch Warren Runners I’m especially looking at you and your oranges!!

I have never been so happy to see my family and friends who kept popping up along the route just when I thought I couldn’t go on any longer.

I am immensely proud of my children – not least Lily who walked 12 miles in the heat to support me AND had the energy to run the last 0.25 mile with me to make sure I crossed the line!

I am stronger than I ever imagined.

The day after the marathon is a MASSIVE come down. Like HUGE!

I know, in different conditions, I could have done better.

I cried – A LOT.

That’s the executive summary!

To follow:

Shot Blocks and the English lesson they gave to my 6 year old.

The emotional impact of physical exertion

Jelly babies.

You know she’s a real friend if……..

Post Marathon Musings..

Leave a Reply

