Run

Breaking records

My own, not world ones – obvs!

Marathon training (did I mention I’m running a marathon in a few weeks?) is really stepping up now. After a week of missed training due to a cold, I have scrapped the cut back week and instead picked up on the week i missed…. Which ended with 16 miles!

I have NEVER, EVER run anywhere near that before!

But run it I did. Well, most of it.. owing to the tail end of my cold meaning that I still have a really irritating cough which just meant I needed to walk from time to time.Oh, and the biggest of the hills… I walked some and ran others.

It would be a fair summary to say that I was VERY pleased to finish!

It would also be a fair summary to say that I actually didn’t much enjoy the final 3 or 4 miles. I struggle to refuel on the go. I can’t take gels (warm, fruit flavoured snot… no thanks!) so have been trying shot blocks. They are fab to a point (as long as I cut them up before the run as they’re too big – mouth clearly not as big as some would have you believe!). I don’t get any tummy troubles with them and they taste pretty good, but I really do struggle to eat, run and breathe!

Happily my running buddy is back! Although I was pretty rubbish company incapable of offering much more than heavy breathing and the occasional incoherent sentence!

img_2629

The smiles dropped the second the pic was taken!

Next weekend is 18 miles……. i can hardly contain my excitement!!

Leave a Reply

