Run

Phase Two – a work in progress

Phew… so, week two of 2017 and week two of Phase Two.

Currently I am on day 3 of abstinence from any form of refined sugar. In case you’re wondering, yes, I have a headache!

I am also in the grip of premature Maranoia. I have heard of this state but never experienced it – clearly 1/2 marathons aren’t sufficiently challenging to bring this on (JOKE!).. Basically, at work I am surrounded by people sniffling, coughing and sneezing. I would work from home to keep away from the germs but they’ve infiltrated there too! However, I figure my risk of infection is lower at work as the adults I am with are (hopefully) more aware of the need for handwashing, covering their mouth when nsneezing & coughing, and general hygiene than at  home where my 3 yr old thinks nothing of wiping her nose on me or presenting me with jumbo bogies mined from her nose!

Otherwise, things are going well. Saturday’s short run (3 miles) was hideous but I am reliably informed this is a good thing and should soon result in a performance spike as my body adapts and improves. Happily, long run Sunday was MUCH more pleasant – thanks in no small part to the company I was running with. Thanks Ladies – you know who you are.

Cross training on Monday was the previously discussed Hydro….. OMFG – seriously! Kick drill intervals formed the main bulk of the session and at halfway I was seriously thinking I might vom…. Happily I didn’t, I finished the set and class strongly (for me) but hope that next week my lane mates will understand that down the rope and up the wall does NOT mean swim down the wall and up the rope!

Having worked my legs pretty hard and for 3 consecutive days I did swap the planned Tuesday intervals for a steady 5 mile trot. As it stands my pace is dropping slightly but I am hoping this is because of the fatigue and that, in due course, my body will adjust.

So there it is… I am currently sleeping like the dead, dodging germs and paying really close attention to my nutrition. Training is on plan and I am in a good place….. Long may it continue!

  • Are you training for a Spring marathon?
  • Are you popping your marathon cherry or are you experienced at that distance?
  • Any top tips?
Leave a Reply

