Live

Rants and Raves

Right, first up is full disclosure… I have stolen this format directly from AnnatheApple whose blog I follow and love the read when I can…. I admit that this tends to be in fits and starts where I’ll catch up on weeks at a time!

I’m going to start with a couple of topical rants. Because that will allow me to finish on a high!

Rant

Errr, helloooooo…. Can anybody hear me? That’s right, over here… the one who you treat like a slave and scream at constantly. The one that can NEVER do anything right. The one who is not allowed to have a decent night sleep. The one who apparently speaks Greek or Latin for all the notice you take. The one whose every personal belonging appears to be fair game for anyone to help themselves to.. The one who, despite all of that still wipes your snotty nose, changes your nappy and (attempts to) keeps you SAFE!

One day you will both be big and I will be sad that I spent so much of these precious early years pretty much gritting my teeth and praying for bedtime. I love you beyond words but man ALIVE I cannot tell you how much I just wish you would realise how hard I try! Evidently these books were a total waste of money!

150820

 

Rant

Errrr, helloooo…. Yep, me again… There is a saying that an Englishman’s home is his castle. My Dad used it a lot when I was little although I can’t really remember in what context. Now, our home is by no means a castle. It was bought as a ‘project’ and, although bits and pieces have been completed, remains just that. And a project seemingly without end.

The unintended impact of this is that we live in a mess. I’ve never been great with mess… It stresses me massively – partly genetics (thanks Dad) and partly due to the Big D making it a REALLY BIG BAD DEAL to live with mess.

On a daily basis I find myself swimming against the tide of three other people who, quite honestly, couldn’t give a rats arse about the state of the house. It exhausts and frustrates me beyond belief, I fantasise about living alone in a neat, clean and tidy haven of peace – I keep checking Rightmove!!

Rave

In January I made a deal with myself to be more selfish. And I’m sticking to it. I am training 4/5 times a week and seeing that pay dividends.

At the start of the year I couldn’t manage one loop of the ‘Big hill, little hill’ interval set used by the running club. But last week I knocked out a pretty respectable three sets. The screen shot below shows the splits I’m really interested in. 1 and 9 are the runs to and from the club house. Splits 3, 5 and 7 are all about the hill sets. And if you fancy checking out just how tough the hills are that we trained on, pop along to Western Road and Southern Road and give them a go yourself!

Splits

 

 

 

On top of this the swim course I have been on since the new year is having a great impact on my cardio capacity and my swim technique. I actually wish I’d had lessons years ago!

1 thought on “Rants and Raves”

  1. Yay for Rants and Raves! 🙂
    I’m with you on mess. Luckily I live alone and any mess is my own doing (insert crying laughing emoji…).
    Well done on the intervals! It’s all about consistency and it’s clearly paying off for you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

